Game of Thrones George R R Martin

game of thrones

 

Wowzer! Despite being mildly disturbed at times, I loved this book. It has been on my reading list for ages but I never quite felt in the right frame of mind to get stuck in. I’ve not watched the TV series, which I hear is amazing, and to be honest, from what I’ve read I’m not sure that I want to watch it. I’d heard lots of things about the book so had an idea of what it was going to be like, and it was nothing like what I’d heard. I’m not sure what I was expecting but it just turned out to be an epic fantasy novel, but a train-wreck of one, which I liked.

The main thing I liked was that the story was gritty in the sense that it was more grey than black and white; people made dumb decisions and lived with the consequences. People die, and that’s just the way it goes. I was getting a little tired of typical fantasy (Raymond E Feist etc) which is sooo predictable. My fave characters were easily Jon Snow and Danny. I’m interested to see where they go in the rest of the series.

Overall I give it a 9/10 for being engaging and entertaining.

About Jason

Hi, I'm Jason. I live in New Zealand and love reading, writing and getting out and about. View all posts by Jason

2 responses to “Game of Thrones George R R Martin

Leave a Reply

