What I’ve been reading

Elizabeth Costello

Thanks to my wonderful auntie, I’ve discovered my most favourite author ever: J M Coetzee. The first book I read of his was Elizabeth Costello. It’s about a woman who is a writer, and through a series of keynote speeches, and a interesting ending (which I won’t spoil), tries to come to terms with her purpose in literature. I won’t say much about the book, other that Coetzee is an absolute genius.

disgrace

Brilliant. I can’t get enough Coetzee. This book is about a South African professor who is disgraced when he gets a formal compliant from a student regarding his inappropriate relationship with her. He then goes to live with his daughter and the disgraces continue. It’s an insightful look into the male psyche and Coetzee’s writing style, with its restrained, crafted and powerful prose, is, in a word, inspirational.

Kafka

Franz Kafka’s Metamorphosis. Wow. I loved it. Amazing story about a salesman who wakes up as an insect. I found the exploration of themes such as the economy, isolation, family and alienation very powerfully, and thought provokingly, interesting. I look forward to reading more of him.

Shallows

Wicked writing style. Really good, brilliant descriptions and powerful imagery. I started reading this book and was absorbed instantly. Totally absorbed. Halfway through I was enjoying the writing, but cared less about the story, and at three quarters, I didn’t care anymore at all. It’s my first Tim Winton book and probably was a poor choice to start with. I won’t discount him yet, but I won’t be rushing out to pick up another.

Love affairs

This was a really interesting and clever book. Beautiful writing style, packed with huge words (glad I read it on the kindle with built in dictionary), and is extremely insightful. It is about a man called Nate, he’s an author, reviewer and obsessively non0committal in relationships. The story revolves around the women Nate dates and the ideals and justifications that make or break the relationships. Nate is a sensitive, interesting guy who, in the end, comes to terms with some of his thinking. I liked it. Found it lacking in some respects, but great in others. Worth a read.

Jesus_Australia-678x1024

Currently reading Coetzee again, The Childhood of Jesus. Which, and not to put too finer point on it, is bloody amazing! This man is a genius. I don’t profess to have much understanding at what he’s alluding to in most of it, but, so far, I’m lost (in a good way) in it.

 

About Jason

Hi, I'm Jason. I live in New Zealand and love reading, writing and getting out and about. View all posts by Jason

Leave a Reply

